A speeding ticket can give you points on your driver’s license, raise your insurance rates and result in a fine. As you’re deciding how to proceed after receiving a traffic ticket, it’s helpful to know the potential penalties. In Florida, traffic ticket penalties rise depending on the speed limit.
Speed limit penalties chart
Florida Statutes 318.18 lists the penalties for speeding violations. The penalties for each amount over the speed limit are as follows:
- 1-5 m.p.h. = Warning
- 6-9 m.p.h. = $25
- 10-14 m.p.h. = $100
- 15-19 m.p.h. = $150
- 20-29 m.p.h. = $175
- 30+ m.p.h. = $250
For the most minor offenses, five miles or less over the speed limit, the driver receives a warning. However, they may still receive points on their license. As the driver’s speed increases over the legal limit, fines also increase. In addition to these standard penalties, there are enhanced penalties for offenses that occur in a school zone or in a construction zone. There are also added penalties for when a violation injures a person or causes destruction of property.
Minimizing speed limit penalties
When a person fights a speeding ticket, the state must prove the charge. For example, if the police write someone a ticket for going 15 miles per hour over the speed limit, the police must prove that the person drove that fast. There may be questions about the reliability of the radar used to measure speed. Moving radars must meet technical requirements for calibration and use, for example. In addition, sometimes, the police write speeding tickets without the use of radar. When they rely only on sight, their estimates can be called into question.
Responding to a traffic ticket
If you have received a traffic ticket, understanding your options and possible outcomes can help you respond in the most appropriate way possible. An attorney with experience in traffic law may be able to help.