Florida Ticket Firm

Call Us Now  | Se Habla Español

Tampa Hollywood Toll-Free
813-276-6000 954-765-4000 844-352-3476

Getting Car Insurance in Florida After a DUI

Home » Blog » Getting Car Insurance in Florida After a DUI

Getting Car Insurance in Florida After a DUI

by | Apr 21, 2016 | DUI

getting car insurance in florida after a DUI

If you’ve been convicted of a DUI and had your license revoked, you may be wondering what it will take to get you back behind the wheel. Part of the process or getting your Florida driver’s license reinstated depends on the specifics of your conviction and how many DUIs you’ve been convicted of within a particular timeframe.

Florida DUI Insurance Requirements and Driver’s License Reinstatement

Florida understands the importance of driving in order to maintain a job, however, the state recognizes driving as a privilege—one that can be suspended or revoked after dangerous or reckless driving behavior, or as a legal consequence to other behaviors (like failure to pay child support).

For those convicted of a DUI, most reinstatements, whether for hardship or after the revocation or suspension period has elapsed, will require attendance at DUI school and possibly treatment for alcohol or drug dependency. In addition, there will be administrative and reinstatement fees to pay and possibly DMV fees, as well.

The biggest fee, however, will be the insurance premiums. Yes, your premiums will be higher. Unfortunately, insurers will literally be asking you to pay for your mistake. Premiums can go up as much as 200 or 300 percent. Scary, right? Plus, Florida requires particular types and amounts of insurance that are higher for those who have been convicted of a DUI. Thankfully, many companies will work with you the further away you get from your DUI.

Before you start calling around, however, make sure to speak with your Florida criminal defense lawyer to ensure that you understand the terms of your conviction. For example, depending on which number DUI, how intoxicated you were, or if anyone was harmed, the terms of your license reinstatement may vary.

If you’ve met your training and treatment requirements, it may be time to start shopping around for insurance. Florida requires FR-44 insurance to be able to drive after a DUI conviction. The coverage of FR-44 is much higher than the typical coverage required by Florida law. The insurance coverage must include $100,000 coverage for bodily injury or death of one person, $300,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons, and $50,000 in liability coverage for property damage.

Thankfully, if you stay in good standing with the law for five years after your conviction, you can apply for the typical Florida $10,000 personal injury protection and $10,000 property damage liability coverage. In order to get here, however, you will need to stay in good standing with the law and do your best to keep your driver’s license free of points and other traffic violations.

Just Charged with a DUI? Get Help From a Florida DUI Defense Lawyer

If you were recently arrested for suspicion of driving under the influence, it is not too late to seek help from a Florida DUI lawyer. A skilled Florida DUI Lawyer can help you question your arrest and arraignment and assist you in securing the best possible outcome under the circumstances.

A DUI can be a stain on your record. Let a reputable Florida criminal defense lawyer help you determine what your options are as you move forward in the legal process. A knowledgeable Florida DUI defense lawyer can help you challenge your arrest and arraignment by investigating the paperwork and procedures. They can also help you better understand the legal implications of a conviction and help you get back on your feet.

Because of the impact a DUI conviction can have on your life, make sure you seek help when you need it and consult with a Florida DUI attorney today.