Are red light tickets legal in Florida? It turns out they sure are. In fact, as of June 30, 2021, the state of Florida has 485 active red light cameras. And data from the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) department shows it issued more than 1 million notices of violation in FY 2021-2022.
That’s a lot of people running red lights.
Afraid you might be one of them and not even know it? Well, forget Google searching “how to check if I got a red light ticket in Florida” and read this guide. As a bonus, you’ll also learn how to beat a red light camera ticket in Florida!
Checking to See If You Have a Red Light Ticket
Red light cameras are standard in the following Florida cities:
- Bay Harbor
- Boynton Beach
- Florida City
- Palm Beach
But since police officers don’t hand out red light tickets, you may have one on your license and be unaware. The state usually sends a notice of violation in the mail when you receive a citation. Yet, the mail can be unreliable, especially if you’ve moved recently. So here are three ways to check for yourself if you have a red light camera violation.
Check Your Driver’s License
Enter your driver’s license number on the License Check website provided by the Florida DMV. You will see if you have any red light tickets listed under your license.
Call the Local Courthouse
Each county courthouse enforces red light violations. Thus, you can call the number of the county courthouse to see if you have any violations. However, if you recently traveled across the state, you will need to speak to the court in each county, which is a hassle.
Call American Traffic Solutions (ATS)
Many cities in Florida use American Traffic Solutions (rebranded under Verra Mobility Corporation) to process traffic violations.
You can call ATS at 1-866-225-9975. You will need to navigate their service menu to speak to an operator. Simply give them your name and license plate number so they can identify if you have any red light tickets. You will be responsible for noting and recording the citation number and date of the ticket if anything comes up on your record.
How Much Is a Red Light Ticket in Florida?
According to Florida Statute 316.0083, a red light camera traffic ticket costs $158. If you fail to pay the ticket after the first notice of violation, the fine may rise to $262. However, there may also be slight differences in the cost from county to county.
Further, your auto insurance company may raise your insurance rates after receiving a red light citation. However, some insurance providers are more lenient than others and may ignore the violation.
Additionally, it’s important to note that you could face a higher fine if you have a not-so-stellar driving record.
How to Respond to a Red Light Ticket
If you receive a red light traffic citation, there are several ways to respond.
But, whichever you choose, don’t ignore the ticket. That could lead to a suspended license, excessive fines, and a fee to reinstate your driver’s license. Driving on a suspended license in Florida is a second-degree misdemeanor. The penalty is as follows:
- A maximum fine of $500
- Up to 60 days in jail
So once you are aware of the ticket, take swift action to avoid further complications.
Pay the Fine
You already know how much you’ll need to pay for your uniform traffic citation, as previously discussed. However, if you plan on paying the fee, don’t miss the due date: 30 days from receiving the notice. Missing the deadline will likely incur court costs and add three points to your license.
You can pay via the following methods:
- By phone at 1-866-225-8875
- Mail a check or money order to the county court
- Online at www.payflclerk.com or www.violationinfo.com
Elect a Driver Improvement Course
By enrolling in a basic driver improvement course, you may receive an 18% reduction in the citation fee. Note that you only have 30 days to enroll in the course before you become ineligible.
Further, the law may require you to enroll in traffic school for running a red light, so inspect the citation closely to see if this applies to you.
If you plan on taking the course, enroll before paying the fine.
Contest the Citation
You also have the option to contest the ticket in court. If you want to pursue this option, it’s ideal to contact the Clerk of Court in the county where the violation occurred within 30 days of receiving the violation.
How to Beat a Red Light Camera Ticket in Florida
Generally, you cannot receive a red light ticket in these scenarios:
- You don’t stop or stop too late at a red light, then proceed to make a right turn in a careful manner
- A law enforcement officer directed you to go through the traffic signal
- An officer already issued you a ticket for the same violation
When you receive a citation, watch the video provided. If you believe you incorrectly received the ticket, dispute it.
For instance, maybe you weren’t the person driving the car. The system automatically sends red light violation tickets to the vehicle’s registered owner. If you were not driving, you can fill out an affidavit form. It’s best to supply the driver’s license number of the person who was driving. However, you won’t have this information if someone steals your car. In that case, include a copy of the police report.
Perhaps you ran the red light because of an emergency, to avoid an accident, or because your brakes were faulty.
Regardless of the reason, since the violations are on camera, a skilled lawyer can quickly build a red light ticket defense for you in accordance with traffic laws.
Hire a Florida Attorney to Help You Beat Your Ticket
Take the proper steps to resolve your infraction. For help, contact us now at Florida Ticket Firm and schedule your free consultation meeting. We can review all FAQs and provide guidance on the best solutions for your case.
Se habla español.