Florida Ticket Firm

Call Us Now  | Se Habla Español

Tampa Hollywood Toll-Free
813-276-6000 954-765-4000 844-FLA-FIRM

Important Florida Driving Laws New Residents Should Know

Home » Blog » Important Florida Driving Laws New Residents Should Know

Whether you’ve just moved to the sunshine state or are planning on becoming a resident, it’s important to understand the Florida laws that govern driving within the state.

If you have a driver’s license from another state or country and are visiting Florida, you are OK to drive in the state. However, it’s important to note that teens will be required to follow Florida’s graduated driving rules.

Those with out-of-state driving permits must abide by Florida driving restrictions. That means teenagers with a permit can only drive during daylight hours for the first three months of their permit. After three months, permit holders have a curfew of 10 PM. In addition, permit holders are required to drive with a licensed 21-year-old in the front seat.

Minus a few exceptions, most of Florida’s driving laws are similar to the laws in other states. Here are three that might differ from your home state.

30 Days to Get a New License

When you become a resident of the sunshine state, having a valid Florida driver’s license or state-issued ID is imperative. You’ll need to be able to show a valid driver’s license or ID for many services.

Florida requires that new residents get a state-issued driver’s license within 30 days of becoming a resident. If you accept a job in Florida, enroll your kids in a Florida public school, register to vote in the state, apply for a homestead exemption, or live in Florida for more than six months, you are considered a resident of the state. In addition, you’ll need to register your vehicle in Florida and apply for the appropriate insurance.

Buckle Up? Mostly

Many states require all occupants of a vehicle to buckle up. Florida’s seat belt law is a bit more nuanced. All occupants of the front seat of a vehicle must be buckled and all children under 18 must be buckled, regardless of where they are sitting. Children five and under must be in an appropriate child safety seat. Adults sitting in the back seat are not required to buckle up, however, it is strongly recommended since seat belts are widely acknowledged as saving lives in case of an accident.

The Move Over Law

The Move Over Law aims to protect emergency responders and police officers working on busy roadways. If you are approaching an emergency vehicle pulled over on the side of the road or a police officer, the Move Over Law requires that you leave the lane closest to the vehicle free. If you are unable to do so and must pass by the emergency vehicle, you must slow down to twenty miles below the posted speed limit. For two-lane roadways with no medians, traffic traveling in both directions are required to slow down.

Ticketed? Challenge It

You have the right to challenge a traffic ticket in court. For the best chance at a successful appeal, hire a skilled Florida traffic ticket lawyer. Traffic tickets are given for a variety of reasons. In the eyes of the law, it does not matter whether or not you are aware of a certain driving restriction or law. Some defendants may attempt to argue that they shouldn’t be held to following a particular statute because they didn’t know about, however, a judge will never side with that argument.

Successfully challenging a traffic ticket requires a well-planned legal challenge. Hiring a trained Florida traffic ticket lawyer with years of experience helping Florida drivers can improve your chances of mounting a successful challenge.

Don’t hesitate—tickets often have very quick deadlines. Call a Florida traffic ticket lawyer as soon as possible in order to increase your chances of a positive outcome.