Florida Ticket Firm

Call Us Now  | Se Habla Español

Tampa Hollywood Toll-Free
813-276-6000 954-765-4000 844-352-3476

Whoa Now: Driver’s Guide to Florida Speed Limits

Home » Blog » Whoa Now: Driver’s Guide to Florida Speed Limits

Whoa Now: Driver’s Guide to Florida Speed Limits

by | Nov 13, 2019 | Florida Laws

Speeding is one of the most common causes of car accidents. In 2017 alone, speeding killed almost 10,000 people, which accounted for over 1/4 of all car fatalities for that year.

If you’re speeding but you don’t get into an accident, you could still rack up a hefty fine. The average speeding ticket costs around $150. But the higher the difference between how fast you’re going and the speed limit, the more expensive your ticket will be.

All drivers make mistakes. Plus, driving speed limits can change quickly, depending on where you’re driving. That’s why it’s so important to pay attention to the signs.

If you want to stay safe while driving in Florida, read this driver’s guide about Florida driving speed limits.

Don’t Drive Too Fast or Too Slow

In Florida, it’s not just speeding that could warrant a ticket, but driving too slow as well.

Florida code says that no driver is allowed to drive so slow that it impedes or blocks the reasonable and regular movement of traffic.

The law also says that no driver is permitted to drive their vehicle at speed higher than what is prudent and reasonable under the conditions. Drivers must also take into account any actual and potential hazards.

It’s uncommon for a police officer to pull someone over who’s going 5 miles or less over the speed limit. There are variations in tire size, speedometer calibration, and margins of error in speed-detecting technology.

Technically, any amount over the speed limit can be considered a speed violation. However, because of the variables mentioned above, officers typically won’t pull someone over who’s only speeding by 5 miles or less.

What Are Florida Speed Limits?

The speed limit in Florida varies from road to road.

On most various rural interstate highways, freeways, some rural limited-access toll roads, and some urban highways, Florida speed limits are 70 mph.

On most urban tollways and freeways, and rural 4-lane highways, the speed limit is 65 mph.

The speed limit is 60 mph on 2-lane sections of United States highways, some freeways and tollways, and most rural state highways.

In other areas, including most country roads, the speed limit is 55 mph.

Most residential and business districts have a speed limit of 30 mph.

When it comes to school zones during specific times indicated on signs, and during flashing yellow lights, the speed limit is 10 to 20 mph.

It should be noted that speed limits change, roads change, and circumstances change, which is why it’s crucial always to take note of signs and indicators around you.

Plus, even though any given road has a speed limit, there might be certain times in which that limit changes. For example, on the Tamiami Trail or in the Big Cypress National Preserve, there are reduced nighttime restrictions because of endangered species in the area.

Another thing to remember is that the speed limit refers to driving under good conditions. So if the speed limit is 70, but extreme weather calls for slower driving, you could still get a ticket for driving around the speed limit if you’re putting yourself and others at risk.

Can a Driver Contest a Ticket?

There are a few reasons for which a driver may choose to contest a speeding ticket.

A driver may oppose the determination of speed if they know how their speed was determined and then learn how to disprove its accuracy.

Plus, if a driver can claim that an emergency situation caused them to break the speed limit and that doing so prevented damage or injury to themselves or others, they may also attempt to contest a ticket.

Sometimes drivers borrow other drivers’ vehicles. If a police officer clocks a car speeding but has to find them again in traffic to pull them over, it can be argued that they made a mistake and pulled the wrong car over.

What Is the Penalty for Speeding?

How much you’re fined for speeding, depends. Typically, you can expect to receive a ticket for anywhere from $25 to $250, if it’s your first ticket. However, if you were driving more than 19 mph over, you’ll earn a heftier fine.

And if you speed in a school or construction zone, your ticket will be much higher.

Depending on how fast you were driving, your license could be suspended for up to 30 days.

Take a look at what your ticket will look like in the event of a speeding charge.

What Is the Penalty for Reckless Driving?

In the state of Florida, there is no set speed you have to pass in order to be hit with a reckless driving charge. It all depends on the circumstances of your violation.

A reckless driver is mainly defined as anyone who drives a vehicle in wanton or willful disregard for the safety of property or persons.

First-time violators might get fined anywhere from $25 to $500. They may also be sentenced to up to 90 days of jail time and have their license suspended for up to 30 days.

Specific fine amounts vary by county. Drivers can often reduce their fine by attending traffic school.

Know Your Driving Speed Limits

When you are familiar with driving speed limits and do your best to follow those limits, you’ll inevitably make the road a safer place.

Speeding kills thousands of people on the road every year. If you aren’t sure what the speed limit is, air on the side of caution. Be proactive and look for signs and indicators to make sure that you stay at or under the speed limit.

And remember that even if you drive on the same road every single day, the rules for that road could change because of construction, for example.

If you were recently ticketed for speeding but you feel it was unwarranted, contact us for a consultation so that you can be one step closer to peace of mind.